You did not wait for me.
Beneath the walls of the Temple of Ashes,
swallows flew low, screaming at dusk.

You did not wait for me.
At noon, the sun shone over the city,
and the rooftiles glittered like the scales of fish.

You did not wait for me.
In the morning, the river flowed slowly
as it always flows, being great and without end.

You did not wait for me.
At night, in the Utomi Gardens,
I saw red fireflies light the hair of a Lady of Shar.

Red fireflies float above the river with no end.
The river makes no sound, flowing slowly.
You did not wait for me.

The sun glared upon the roof of the Temple of Ashes,
where swallows hunted all day, and at dusk, flew low.
You did not wait for me.

In error, hoping, I merely turn the wheel of dreams,
and my life is without peace.

The wheel of dreams seems easy to turn,
yet leads only to exhaustion and pain.

Upon you, I hang the wheel of dreams:
you are the axis of all illusion.

You could not even wait for me,
one day, by the Red Gate, while I ran there, dreaming.

And still, I wait for you.


Formal song, from The lover in the snow (iv) | Volume 19 of Dustless

